Vice Governor: JOHNNY D. WAGIS
Land Area (sq.Km.) 2,833
Population*: 403,944
No. of Registered Voters**: 309,038
No. of Municipalities: 13
No. of Barangays: 140
Income Class: 2ND CLASS
Legal Basis of Creation: ACT 2711
Date of Creation: March 10, 1917
Official Website:



Benguet is located on the southernmost part of the Cordillera Administrative Region between 16’10" and 16’33" north latitude and 120’34" to 120’52" east longitude. It is bounded on the north by Mountain Province, on the south by Pangasinan, on the west by La Union and Ilocos Sur, and on the east by Nueva Vizcaya and Ifugao.

Basic Information

Benguet is politically divided into 13 municipalities and 140 barangays with the municipality of La Trinidad as its capital. The 13 municipalities with some basic information are as follows.


Benguet was formerly a sub-province of the old Mountain Province with the passage of Act No. 1876 on August 13, 1908. It only became a separate province with the enactment of Republic Act No. 4695 on June 18, 1966.

Physical Profile

Generally, Benguet is a mountainous area. Rising thousands of feet above sea level is the second highest mountain in the Philippines, Mt. Pulag, a few feet lower than Mt. Apo, located in the municipality of Kabayan. Elevation ranges from 200 meters to 2,792 meters, the highest at Mt. Pulag. The Halsema Mountain Highway, 95 kilometers of which are in Benguet, traverses the province from south to north. The highest point of the Philippine Highway System, 2,256.10 meters above sea level, is in Mt. Paoay, Atok.

Of the province's total land area of 2,616.48 square kilometers, forest land comprises 1,747.40 sq. km. (66.78%) while alienable and disposable lands make up 869.08 sq. km. (33.22%). Classified forest land is distributed as follows: forest/watershed reservation is 657.43 sq. km., timberland is 233.61 sq. km., national parks is 698.67 sq. km., military reservation is 5.54 sq. km. and civil reservation is 152.15 sq. km.

Climate in the province is under the Type I climate classification by the Corona's Systems of Classification with two distinct pronounced seasons, wet from May to October and dry during the rest of the year. The area is pleasantly cool comparable to springtime in temperate countries. Temperature ranges from a low of 8.60 degrees Celsius during the month of January to a high of 26 degrees Celsius during the month of April.

The province is accessible by land transport via the following entry points: from Pangasinan through Kennon Road; La Union through either Marcos Highway at Rosario or Naguilian Road at Naguilian; Mountain Province through the Halsema Highway; Nueva Vizcaya, through the Benguet-Nueva Vizcaya Road; and Ilocos, through the Abatan-Mankayan-Cervantes Road. These road networks converge in Baguio City, the center of trade and commerce in the province.

Tourist Attractions and Events

Tourist Attractions

Benguet's tourist destinations and places of interest which are both natural and man-made, are: the Benguet Provincial Capitol, Haight's Place, Philippine Pali, Naguey Rice Terraces, Pasdong Rice Terraces, Half Tunnel Road along Halsema Highway, Mt. Kabunian, Mt. Guedguedayan, Elephant Mountain, Mt. Lanipew, Tres Marias Falls, Sukod Pulicay Falls, Bedekbek Hotspring, The Ambuklao and Binga Dams, Natubleng Vegetable Gardens, Balatoc Mines, Mt. Ugo, Mt. Pulag, The Mummies of Kabayan, Les-eng Rice Terraces, Palina Rice Terraces, La Trinidad Vegetable Trading Post, Strawberry Farms and Rose Gardens of La Trinidad, Benguet State University, Lepanto Golf Course and Air Strip, Sabdang Waterfalls, Hydro Falls, the historic Kennon Road, Bridal Veil Falls, Woodcarving Community of Asin, Asin Hot Spring, Mt. Sto. Tomas, Colorado Falls, Tokang Cave, Ambongdolan Falls, and Ambongdolan Caves.

Tourism Events

Benguet's tourism event, Adivay, was born out of the same vision as Panagbenga. The goal was to start with a festival in Baguio and then spread out the "festival fever" to BLIST (Baguio, La Trinidad, Itogon, Sablan, Tuba), with the objective of strengthening tourism and increasing business and employment opportunities in BLIST. Adivay is held every November coinciding with the province's foundation anniversary and puts focus on Benguet as a viable tourism destination. It is an Ibaloi term for coming together and having fun.

The Province of Benguet is composed of Thirteen (13) Municipalities, namely:

Atok, Bakun, Bokod, Buguias, Itogon, Kabayan, Kapangan, Kibungan, La Trinidad (Capital), Mankayan, Sablan, Tuba & Tublay.












1 ATOK  223.86 4th  8 19,242 8,634  -
2 BAKUN  307.69 3rd 7 13,587 8,287  -
3 BOKOD  396.40  4th 10  12,648 7,483  -
4 BUGUIAS 162.60  3rd  14 39,271 21,482  -
5 ITOGON  498.00 1st 9  55,960 24,788
6 KABAYAN 277.52 4th  13 13,588 6,727  -
7 KAPANGAN  173.27 4th  15  20,084 11,393  -
8 KIBUNGAN  261.08 4th  7 16,850 7,881  -



 82.74 1st  16  107,188 31,679
10 MANKAYAN  175.14 1st  12  35,586 18,486  -
11 SABLAN 48.12  5th  8  10,511 6,132  -
12 TUBA  390.42 1st  13  42,874 22,103
13 TUBLAY  57.30  5th  8  16,555 8,533


      - 2010 NSO Census of Population
    **  - 2010 COMELEC Voters Count